'Your device settings are killing me' msg

Hi, I’m new to Sweatcoin, and like the idea and the app, but I have a problem with my step conversion: my settings are all as detailed in the faq, including the ones specific to my device (Xiaomi), but every day, at some point, the app shows the ‘your device settings are killing me’ message and step conversion goes to 20% or lower, even though I am absolutely sure most of the steps were taken outside (although some steps may indeed not be counted as outdoors for gps signal reasons…); for instance, two days ago my Google Fit app recorded over 12.000 steps, but less than 3500 were actually converted to Sweatcoins, and the maps on Google Fit which tracked my movements clearly show the steps are outdoors… I keep checking and rechecking my settings–gps, battery saving options, locked app… Nothing is ever out of order, and yet… Any suggestions?
PS maybe not relevant, but the app shuts itself down, or is shut down by my phone, overnight, maybe every other day…

I understand that, mine is doing the samething. I love the sweatcoin app, and hope that the problem will be fixed

Darwinbot, Louwana, thank you for sharing this! I am really sorry that this is happening.

Some Android device manufacturers add proprietary battery-optimising solutions that might kill our app while it is operating in the background or prevent GPS from running. Some users have reported that periodical manual opening of our app helps to prevent this from happening.

Could you be so kind to open our app periodically to detect at what time mark after the last app open Operating system decides to shut us down? Happy to provide bounty for your kind help! Oleg

Hi Oleg, thanks for your reply; so you think the ‘device settings’ msg could be due to my phone shutting the gps for battery saving reasons? If so, do you know which system/gps app I could add to the non-restricted battery saving settings, if at all possible/relevant?